LearnIT2Teach

WE PROMISE not to teach you computer code or try to turn you into a techie.”

I stumbled upon some LearnIT2Teach information from settlement-at-work, and I just had to put the quote in here.  I agree that the LIT2T crew helps you to create your LMS in the simplest way possible, but folks, there is no getting around the computer coding that is done in Stage 4.  But it’s not impossible.  In fact, I’ve had some fun playing around with html.

I coded my website at TVDSB to have a flashing script.  I used code to embed a Youtube video in a Hot Potatoes task.  I also cut and paste code fairly regularly – even in here (WordPress).  Tried unsuccessfully to put in a virtual bookshelf from Shelfari, but found out it can’t be done on the unpaid WordPress sites.

I think the quote above is very telling.  It speaks to the dread that many instructors have of tech in the classroom.

But if you take the actual definition of the word “techie” – it means “a person who is expert in or enthusiastic about technology, esp. computing.”  What’s wrong with that?  Enthusiasm is a good thing.

That said, I get the trepidation that instructors feel when contemplating using tech in the classroom.  I’m not a techie – there are way too many things I don’t know.  But at least now I know that “html” is not short for hotmail…

About jenniferartan

Language instructor in London. Level 2 Google Certified Educator. Blended Learning. Learning Management Systems. TESL Ontario Webinar Editor/Presenter. Edutech Conference Junkie. Smartboards. Reluctant Techie.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment