Edmodo- I think It’s Time

logo_edmodo

I recently attended an online Edmodo conference (#EdmodoCon16).  It was my second time.  I created an Edmodo account a couple of years ago to see what it was all about; at the time, I was juggling between two learning  management systems – Desire2Learn, and Moodle (packaged and maintained by LearnIT2Teach).  I figured that my learners’ needs could be met with either of the two that were already available to me.

I’ve written about this before; in fact, it was my impetus for starting this blog.  I ended up dropping D2L for LIT2T, and have been adequately satisfied with the results.  For a LINC ESL instructor in Canada, LIT2T sets up a Moodle platform for you, and it comes preloaded with SCORMS and activities per CLB stage.  Plus support, which is invaluable for a LINC instructor just starting out.

The SCORMs are hit and miss; they aren’t HTML5.  That’s about as technical as I can get.  Or, I could tell you, you click on the thing to do the thing, and nothing happens, or you get an error message.  I started using OneNote (regular not for education) with my adult learners in conjunction with the Moodle platform.  Because we have what’s called “Active Directory”, this meant I could access learners’ electronic files for feedback and assessment fairly easily, so long as I was at school when I was doing it.  Some learners opened a OneNote account from their homes, and were successful at being able to access their files, share, etc.  That was before OneDrive changed its amount of space available.

Learners will still be able to access their OneNote accounts while in the school lab; they may even be able to upload to a thumb drive and then work on files at home.  But they won’t be able to use OneDrive as easily as they could before, as the space available does limit what they can put in their e-portfolios.

That was the subject of my last blog.  I take ownership of not being on top of the OneDrive space decrease.  Mea copa.  So while I will still try to use OneNote in class, and personally, I’m not so sure about continuing with LIT2T.

Hence my interest in Edmodo.  The conference participants in 2015 were inspiring, as they were again this year. Indeed, I ended up following about a dozen from last year, and almost the same number this year.  I’ve got some ideas about Professional Development, and using Edmodo’s cool new features for my Adult ESL workplace course.  In particular, I was interested in how Edmodo connects with Google Apps for Education (GAFE – which to me is a bit of an unfortunate acronym, too close to the noun “gaffe” which generally means a mistake or blunder).

googleappsforeducation

I am also working towards becoming “google certified”, and then eventually “edmodo certified”.   Many of the teachers who demonstrated how they use Edmodo showed brilliantly how well Edmodo plays with others.  Use Edmodo + Padlet, or with any of your classroom Google docs.

Screen-Shot-2013-03-19-at-2.32.04-PM1

I think that Edmodo offers the flexibility that Moodle can’t, especially since it can link with OneDrive.  I’ve already tried to link Edmodo with my OneDrive education account, but it looks like I will need to connect with my IT department as I’m still having issues…  I’m looking forward to using Edmodo with my group, and plan to write about the experience here.

About jenniferartan

ESL instructor in London. Level 2 Google Certified Educator. Blended Learning. Learning Management Systems. TESL Ontario Webinar Manager. Edutech Conference Junkie. Smartboards. Reluctant Techie.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Edmodo- I think It’s Time

  1. eslclaudie says:

    I experimented wuth Edmodo while I was doing the ACE Language Learning and Technology Part Two through Miunt Royal Unuversity and liked it very much.

Leave a Reply

