Day 4 & 5 – Post a Picture & What Do You Love Most About Teaching

 

Picture10

I’m combining two days into one post.  The first blog question asks you to describe your classroom. What do you see, what don’t you see that you’d like to…

My classroom is a lot like my personality.  Some organization is definitely needed!  I hate to throw things out, so it can also be somewhat cluttered.  In this particular picture, the desks are organized in a  horseshoe so that the learners can be on either side of the table to do the task.  I think it was a product merchandising task with jenga blocks.  I have blocks, puzzles, cowboy hats (you never know), blindfolds, a rubber chicken, a trophy, a glass apple, a Smartboard, a giant craft box and, of course, my Cuisinare rods.

Having done some cleaning over the summer, I can say that my class right now is more organized than normal.  What I do not have in my class that I would really like, are computers for the learners.  I’d like at least 3 computer stations.  I have enough room to set them up.  We have access to a lab, but it would be so much easier and convenient to have work stations right in the classroom.  I know that they would be used.

The second part of the challenge was to narrow down what you love most about teaching.  I love being able to be that bridge for the learners and the rest of their lives.  I love being able to provide guidance and support, and to share with them what it is like to work in Canada.  It’s reciprocal; I learn every bit as much from them as they do from me.  My class is a guided conversation.  What I love to hear are these words:  “Are you serious?  It’s time to go?”

That tells me that they are fully engaged in a task or discussion.  Being able to provide technological competence is also something I love.  I was initially worried about using an LMS in class, thinking that it could possibly isolate some learners.  That hasn’t been the case.

About jenniferartan

ESL instructor in London. Level 2 Google Certified Educator. Blended Learning. Learning Management Systems. TESL Ontario Webinar Manager. Edutech Conference Junkie. Smartboards. Reluctant Techie.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

