Next Plans

I want to figure out a way to import BigBlueButton into my LMS.  I have been using it in Tutela recently and think I’m in techno love.  I know that it is a poor ugly cousin to Blackboard Collaborate and something called Sakai, but hey, I don’t need a movie star to rock my world.  I like the basic features of BBB.  Haven’t edited a webinar yet, but am about to, and now I have ideas for recording modules for my blended learning class this summer.

Todd

I know that BBB can be used with Moodle.  I’ve googled it.  There is a Skype function, but I haven’t touched it yet.  I’m hoping to be able to do some recordings this summer and start to accumulate a stockpile of course modules.  Granted, would still prefer to be in front of the class, live students, etc.  But sometimes the students aren’t so alive.  Seriously.  I’ve had to engage the squeaky yellow chicken recently.  As much as WHMIS can and does save lives, the delivery of the workshop induces coma.  So I pull out Todd, the yellow chicken, at a point where 2/3 of the learners are peering out the window, down at their phones, or have started swatting off the night terrors. *SQUEAK*  Awake now?

Don’t mock it until you try it.  Every instructor needs an assistant like Todd from time to time.

Back to the tech talk… I have discovered that time to do Stage 4 does not magically appear.  I need to plan at least three times per week that will be dedicated to Stage 4 material, because I really want the title “e-materials developer” on my list of accomplishments.  Luckily, a colleague is in the same boat and may join me this summer working in Stage 4. The plan is to get the Stage 4 course set up for the fall’s new SLT Retail program (The Home Depot group).

In the meantime, this summer I am piloting another blended learning course (to which I still don’t have all the details), and testing out my own version of the PBLA. To non-tech folks, this is the paper-based learning assessments….  okay, not paper-based, rather  portfolio based, but it might as well be paper based because there is no e-version of it yet, and there very well could be, I mean, come on CIC or whoever is running this joint, first they proclaim the benefits and necessity of e-learning using online resources such as LearnIT2Teach, then they turn around and say, okay, forget that, we really want to go back to papers and binders, with dividers, etc.  And by the way, here’s a slide rule…  The issue is that PBLA will take massive amounts of time to incorporate into a language program; this means less time will be available to get instructors online.

Why not have developed an e-version of the PBLA at the same time?  I think OneNote might work since it comes already with a bunch of tabs set up.  When a document has been completed, user selects print, then send to OneNote, and voila!  Easy records.  Easy to share with the instructor to get some feedback.  Easy to save to a thumbdrive or desktop.  Harder to lose on a bus… okay, thumb drives can get lost fairly easily, but that is why we BACK UP people!  Plus, when the learner is ready to progress, the file can be easily sent to a DropBox, and approval can be forthcoming at the stroke of a mouse.  That sounds weird.

Anyhow, I want to see how I can use OneNote as a kind of e-PBLA this summer with my short course.  If it works out, someone here tell CIC that I’m a genius.  If not, well, I’ll be on here explaining what happened.

About jenniferartan

ESL instructor in London. Level 2 Google Certified Educator. Blended Learning. Learning Management Systems. TESL Ontario Webinar Manager. Edutech Conference Junkie. Smartboards. Reluctant Techie.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

