Stage 4 – Ready to go…

It Must’ve Been The Game

The downloading issues, and extreme slowness at school on Friday, I figure it must have been because every staff member and credit student was tuned into the Olympics hockey game.   I was thinking that maybe this speed is just how it is, that I’m going to have to get used to it.  Then I went home.

canadian_olympics.jpg.size.xxlarge.promoI don’t always take my work home, but when I get started on something, I usually want to finish it.  Especially if it’s cool.  So I loaded up the home PC and tried again to get through the material in Unit 3 of Stage 4.  It was lightning fast.  Point, click, video…  So I downloaded Hot Potatoes, WebSequitur, and WebRhubarb.  And the downloads did not take 1.5 hours.  Done in minutes.

Plan for My Course

The next thing I have to do is to start laying out the course and then create some Web 2.0 material for the group.  I am a visual person, so I need to see the course.  I’m going to need to set up a calendar, because I don’t want any time-related surprises.  Often I think of the course in 12 evenly distributed 1-week chunks.  I forget stuff like PD days, minor holidays, field trip days.  I’ve already got at least 5 field trip days planned, so already, 5 days gone.

From what I’ve learned already in Stage 4 (which, by the way, never ever google “stage 4” thinking you’re going to find a clever graphic), I know that I am going to look more into developing a WebQuest for the group.  I like that idea quite a bit, and think that it will work well with a Retail theme.

My Short List

  • make up a calendar for the next retail class
  • field trip plan: Fabricland, Bridal/Tuxedo shops (for fitting language), The Bay, Fanshawe College (Costume Design), WIL
  • enter the outlines into the course
  • find out how to add the students to the course (in Stage 3, I was given a number of logins)
  • start creating material using Hot Potatoes
  • talk with Jim about what I’m supposed to be doing (maybe this should be first…)

I knew I was always going to do Stage 4, and now I wish I had budgeted my time better back in January so I could have started it sooner.  There is a lot to get to know.  And the Unit/Topic #3 stuff?  I def. will be watching the videos more than once, especially once I start putting the material together.

I wish that there was a larger Stage 4 community so we could bounce ideas off of each other.  As it is, if you look at the forum, there hasn’t been action there in a year in some cases.  I feel like I’m the only person on the planet doing Stage 4.  And I know that one of my colleagues is as well.  We had once been logged on at the same time, and I excitedly sent her a message from the site, but never heard back.  You have to know to check your messages or they all just sit there in the virtual mailbox forever.

Leave a Reply

