All Things Tech

technical-difficulties

I am currently in an online conference with Myenglishonline.  It’s a national online conference for EAL/ESL professionals.  I’ve been looking forward to it for months, now.  Logged on this morning to the welcome session with no problem.

Now, the site is overloaded.  Nothing opens.  Can’t log on to anything.  The page timer icon spins and spins, and nothing happens. Into the void…

When I was doing some research into the pros and cons of various LMS’s, one thing that came up was something about balancers, or a gateway.  If there is only one door, then it can get bottlenecked when you’ve got a load of participants trying to get through at the same time.  To solve this issue, you need multiple entry points.  And an idea of what your numbers are.

I know that planning any kind of webinar or online conference, there can be multiple issues that come up.  In the welcome session, the host started off with a contingency plan in case of difficulties such as this.

Glad I thought to log on to Twitter.  I don’t normally use Twitter, as I don’t have a cell phone.  The host, Briar, just tweeted about going to a test server site and said to check emails.  For some reason, I don’t get emails from these guys.

The point of writing this was that I was considering applying to TESL O for their volunteer webinar admin position.  Am still thinking about it.  I think I’ll be checking with the myenglishonline folks after this conference to learn a little about their experience with this medium.

Leave a Reply

