Got a nod from LearnIT2Teach

In case you’ve arrived here fresh from the LearnIT2Teach December newsletter, just thought I’d fill you in a little on what I’m doing here.

I’m lucky.  I’m fortunate to be able to get to experiment with not one but two Learning Management Systems at my workplace.  I use my LearnIT2Teach Stage 3 platform for my ESL Retail course, and have had some great success with it.  Moodle has a lot of advantages; Moodle + LearnIT2Teach is even better.

Because I work for a school board, I have been granted access to Desire2Learn, another kind of a LMS.  I was able to use it last summer, and I was just now (as in last week) given the green light to use it for the SLT program out of my school.

I’m in the unusual position of being able to use and comment on two different LMS’s.  So while I initially set up this blog to record my foray into the virtual learning environment, I had NOT  planned to keep it going after the end of my summer blended learning course.  However, one thing led to another, and I decided to keep on blogging, if only to keep things straight for myself.  How did I resolve the SCORM issue in D2L?  Where is the blog tool again?

I have also been searching for others, like me, using LMS’s, to learn from them.  You all seem to be few and far between.  Or at least disinclined to posting your rants on a public forum.

So, in this blog, I write about the different features or functions of an LMS, and when I can, I compare the two systems with which I am becoming familiar.  I don’t have a tech background.  I’ve had to learn all of this stuff by doing it (ye olde experimental method) and through LearnIT2Teach.  They’ve been invaluable.  Much of the information that you can learn from them using the open source LMS can be transferred to a proprietary LMS,  many of the same bells and whistles.

Anyhow, I’m Jennifer.  Nice to meet you. Comment if you wish.

About jenniferartan

ESL instructor in London. Level 2 Google Certified Educator. Blended Learning. Learning Management Systems. TESL Ontario Webinar Manager. Edutech Conference Junkie. Smartboards. Reluctant Techie.
This entry was posted in eLearning Resources, Learning Management Systems, LearnIT2Teach, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

