Marks

One of the benefits of using a LMS is having all of the learner tasks, grades, posts etc. in one place.  I love the idea of being able to look in on their activity to see what they’ve been up to.  I know that MOODLE is going to update shortly and work on a way to enable feedback in the blogs  – because right now, I assign a reflective writing topic in the blog, learners write, then I have to print them off, make comments on the hardcopy, and hand it back.  I have tried copying and pasting comments from their blog into a message, but that was too messy.

One of the challenges for me, both in MOODLE and in D2L, was the gradebook.  Before I gripe about it, I know that I need to go back, find the help document and re-read it.  It could be easier for instructors to use.  Right now, if I select a participant, all gradable activities show up in the order that they were created.  Because I created my own tasks after the LINC tasks, all of my assignments show up waaaaaay at the bottom.  I end up deselecting all, and then just checking the bottom portion to produce the midterm summative assessments.  There must be a better way to organize this – I just haven’t stumbled on it yet.

D2L was more complicated – there was a selectable field when you created the assignment.  You had to choose to automatically import to gradebook, or the task would show up with no grade (instructor would then manually enter everything).  One you wised up to this, you made sure to check that box.

I will eventually figure out a way to do this that works for me.

About jenniferartan

ESL instructor in London. Level 2 Google Certified Educator. Blended Learning. Learning Management Systems. TESL Ontario Webinar Manager. Edutech Conference Junkie. Smartboards. Reluctant Techie.
This entry was posted in Blended Learning, Reflections, Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

