Desire 2 Learn

Yesterday was a great success. All learners were able to log into the LMS and watch the orientation video. One learner was able to explore other parts of the site, and through him, I was able to figure out one of the major stumbling blocks I’ve had.

When you click on a “module” or other links that use the ADOBE Flash Player, nothing opens. You see a “timer” icon, perpetually going round and round, but never being able to open. I could create modules here, on these computers, but I could never test them. I never got an error message explaining the issue. Thus, I didn’t know whether it was a problem within my LMS, or if it was a problem with the computer.

Then I noticed “T” open up the site, and he did not encounter this issue. Intrigued, I sat beside him and tried to figure out what he had done. I noticed he was not using Internet Explorer; he was using Google Chrome, which is a newer browser. When “T” got to the home page, he could see the orientation video embedded in the LMS, and did not have to click an outside YouTube link, like everyone else had to.

Aha! It’s a browser issue! In order to view the modules, and the SCORM thingies I successfully installed last Friday, you need the latest ADOBE and a newer browser. It was then that I realized I don’t have the permissions to update the lab computers with the new ADOBE, so I sent an email request to our IT person. I’m waiting to hear back.

In the meantime, all login and password issues have been resolved. I do foresee learners trying to get into D2L at home and being thwarted by the browser/ADOBE issue and not knowing what to do. I plan to create a “Screenshot” help word document (or pdf) so they can update their own computers.

Even though we are in week 3 of the 5 week program, I don’t see this as a major issue, because, for the most part, learners were able to access my Teacher Website and do the tasks we set out there. Now, in the LMS, we will be able to track learner progress and see when/if they have logged on, and the duration of their login sessions. This is one of the major advantages of using a LMS; it makes the learners more accountable.

About jenniferartan

ESL instructor in London. Level 2 Google Certified Educator. Blended Learning. Learning Management Systems. TESL Ontario Webinar Manager. Edutech Conference Junkie. Smartboards. Reluctant Techie.
This entry was posted in Learning Management Systems, Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

