Got SCORM?

A month ago, if you’d asked me whether or not I’d be able to configure the SCORM on my LMS, I’d probably have looked at you like you were nuts. Today, I can tell you (proudly!) that my LMS is not only SCORM compliant, it’s actually configured to track and record learner progress. I know this because, after a lot of trial and error, I am able to marry two systems into one. Clarity English, meet Desire 2 Learn. May your union be long and happy.

I remember staring at my inbox, at the “zip” file, knowing that it was going to be an uphill climb. I know that there are two help lines, one for D2L and one for Clarity, and I’ve been using them both. The problem, however, is that I didn’t know what to *say* when I got through to the CSR.

Rrrrrrring.
CSR: Welcome to D2L. How may we be of assistance today?
Me: Great. Thanks. Yeah, I need help. I can’t get the thing on the thing, you know, the thing where you click it and it lets you do things.
CSR: Eh?
Me: I’m having problems with my SCORM.
CSR: Is it compliant?
Me: Not today; it’s behaving badly…

I think I ended up telling them to walk me through the process, using human-speak, not computer tech/programmer jargon that only 1 person in a million can understand. Sid and Darren held my virtual hand as I entered areas of D2L that I didn’t know existed, and showed me how to import the “SCORM” object… First time through, I hit a snag. The zip file I was using was incomplete, missing its manifest. (which, I figured out, was a fairly crucial piece of the puzzle).

I went back to my inbox and downloaded the file again from Clarity, and instead of calling Darren and Sid, I tried it on my own. It worked. I did a little dance, virtual-fist bumped Sid and Darren, and then went in to actually *use” the SCORM. Turns out the computer lab I was in uses an outdated browser and the SCORM can only run on the latest version of ADOBE Flash Player – which I have no access to upload. The computer lab that I normally work in won’t access certain parts of the D2L (we haven’t figured out the reason why yet), SO, essentially, that meant that I wasn’t going to be able to test-drive the SCORM at work.

When I got home, I immediately logged into D2L, anxious to find out whether or not the successfully uploaded SCORM would properly manifest itself into the D2L. It’s like an organ transplant. Would my LMS (D2L) be able to integrate the foreign body, or would it reject Clarity completely?

Wait for it… yeah baby, transplant success! A learner will be able to login, access Clarity within the D2L AND (bells and whistles please) track learner progress.

Minor victories. Only took me 8 hours…

About jenniferartan

ESL instructor in London. Level 2 Google Certified Educator. Blended Learning. Learning Management Systems. TESL Ontario Webinar Manager. Edutech Conference Junkie. Smartboards. Reluctant Techie.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

